Breaking News

Breaking News...The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014...The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2014...India creates history: Mangalyaan successfully enters Mars Orbit at first attempt...The new pope- Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio, Who Will Be Pope FrancisVenezuelan president Hugo Rafael Chávez Frías passed awayMar Baselios Cleemis Thottunkal Prince of Church...Usain Bolt, Allyson Felix Named World Athletes Of The Year 2012...Vayalar Award 2012 for Akkitham Achuthan Namboodiri...Vallathol award for Yusuf Ali Kecheri...Gulzar (Sampooran Singh Kalra) to get Indira Gandhi award for national integration...Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the moon, passed away...Hamid Ansari re-elected India's 14th Vice President... NASA's Curiosity rover has landed on Mars...India's Saina Nehwal wins Olympic bronze in badminton...India's Vijay Kumar wins Olympic Silver in 25m Rapid Fire Pistol Shooting...Gagan Narang opens India’s Medal count at 2012 London Olympics...Captain Lakshmi (Lakshmi Sahgal) passed away...Pranab Mukherjee is India's 13th president...Bollywood's first superstar Rajesh Khanna passed away...VS Sampath to be new Chief Election Commissioner of India...Sachin Tendulkar sworn in as Rajya Sabha Member...Viswanathan Anand wins World Chess Championship 2012...Sachin Tendulkar completed his 100th international century, against Bangladesh...Malayalam actor Jagathy Sreekumar ...Kerala Governor MOH Farook passed away...Ezhuthachan Award for MT Vasudevan Nair...Music maestro Bhupen Hazarika passed away...Bulgaria’s Rosen Plevneliev wins presidencyFormula One: Vettel wins inaugural Indian Grand Prix...Nusrat Bhutto passed away...Earthquake in Turkey could kill 1000...Julian Barnes wins the 2011 Man Booker Prize...Vayalar Award 2011 for K P Ramanunni....Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Three Activist Women....Swedish poet Tomas Transtroemer awarded Nobel Literature Prize...NOBEL PRIZE 2011-Shechtman Wins Chemistry Nobel for Crystal Find...NOBEL PRIZE 2011- Physics Prize honours ‘Expanding Universe’ find...NOBEL PRIZE 2011-Immune system discoveries win medicine Nobel...NOBEL PRIZE 2011:Three scientists who unlocked secrets of the body's immune system, opening doors to new vaccines and treatments for cancer, won the 2011 Nobel prize for medicine on Monday...C Radhakrishnan bags Vallathol AwardScientists Say E=MC2 Might Be Wrong, Say Neutrinos Are Faster Than Light...Ex-Afghan President Rabbani killed

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

VS Sampath to be new Chief Election Commissioner of India

Election Commissioner V S Sampath was today (6.6.2012) appointed the new Chief Election Commissioner of India who will preside over the next Lok Sabha General Elections in 2014.
62-year-old Sampath will take over as Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) after incumbent S Y Quraishi demits office on June 10. 
Consequent to Sampath's appointment, Government will soon be naming his replacement as Election Commissioner. After Sampath, the other Commissioner H S Brahma becomes the next in seniority in the three-member Commission.

Chief Election Commissioners of India
1 Sukumar Sen: 21 March 1950 to 19 December 1958
2 Kalyan Sundaram: 20 December 1958 to 30 September 1967
3 S. P. Sen Verma: 1 October 1967 to 30 September 1972
4 Nagendra Singh: 1 October 1972 to 6 February 1973
5 T. Swaminathan: 7 February 1973 to 17 June 1977
6 S. L. Shakdhar: 18 June 1977 to 17 June 1982
7 R. K. Trivedi: 18 June 1982 to 31 December 1985
8 R. V. S. Peri Sastri: 1 January 1986 to 25 November 1990
9 V. S. Ramadevi: 26 November 1990 to 11 December 1990
10 T. N. Seshan: 12 December 1990 to 11 December 1996
11 M. S. Gill: 12 December 1996 to 13 June 2001
12 J. M. Lyngdoh: 14 June 2001 to 7 February 2004
13 T. S. Krishnamurthy: 8 February 2004 to 15 May 2005
14 B. B. Tandon: 16 May 2005 to 29 June 2006
15 N. Gopalaswami: 30 June 2006 to 20 April 2009
16 Navin Chawla: 21 April 2009 to 29 July 2010
17 Shahabuddin Yaqoob Quraishi: 30 July 2010 to 10 june 2012
18 VS Sampath: 10 june 2012-present


No comments: